Where I have been, what I have done, and why I did it

12/28/11 Taking a Moment to Reflect

It has been a while since my last post.  Since this blog is about “Where I have been, what I have done, and why I did it”, I felt I needed to post this one.  This was hard to do.

Back in April 2010 my Dad was getting ready to have carpal tunnel surgery.  When he visited the hospital for a preliminary review, they did some other tests and found that it was something much worse.  He was diagnosed with Glioblastoma grade 4 (Brain cancer).  We received a phone call from mom and we immediately packed our bags and made our way over to Knoxville.  The Doctor said he needed to have surgery asap to remove as much of the tumor as he could.  The picture below is Dad with our daughter the day before the surgery.

Right before the nurses took Dad back to the operating room, I told him that when we see him again to give us a “thumbs up” if he recognizes us.  Many hours pass and the doctor called us into a room.  He gave us the prognosis and what he was able to do.  The Doctor then said we could go see him.  As soon as we came through the doorway my Dad glanced over and raised his thumb.

The initial recovery was slow going for him.  We stayed until he was able to come home which I think was about a week.

Three months later Mom and Dad came to our home for our daughters 1st birthday.  It really meant a lot to him and us that he could make it.  Below is a picture of him arriving.

He had some highs and lows over the next 16 months and we spent as much time as we could with him.  In October this year, we got news that things were not going well.  We made another visit that was the hardest thing I have ever had to go through.  We said our goodbyes while he was still cognitive.  Below is a picture I took of him and Mom.  I did not notice the tear rolling down his cheek when I took this.  My Mom saw it when I prepared it for the funeral.  This was taken on 10/15/11.

My dad passed away 12 days later a little after 2:00 a.m.  Mom and I were sitting beside him.

Love you Dad

4 responses

  1. Jake Doster

    Your dad was a very special man Mike. I’m very blessed to have met him. Love you guys!

    December 28, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    • mikesherrill

      Thank you Jake

      December 29, 2011 at 2:32 am

  2. Chuck

    Beautiful, Mike.

    I lost my Dad a few years back. He was a very important person in my life. I can understand your loss. Please accept my condolences.

    December 29, 2011 at 6:39 pm

  3. mikesherrill

    Thank you Chuck

    December 31, 2011 at 1:52 am

Leave a Reply

